top of page
  • Clarice Nicole Lee

The Disney Cultural Exchange Program is back: My Experience from 2019, Pre-pandemic!

Hello Mousketeers!


A little birdy told me that the Disney Cultural Exchange Program (DCEP) is back. My alma mater, NUS, has also started publicising the programme again. So I decided to write this little guide to help answer some common questions you might have about the programme if you are interested in applying (Please apply, it is so much fun; a literal once in a lifetime experience).

Me in my Main Street USA Outdoor Vending costume - I love that I match the cotton candy!


What is the Disney Cultural Exchange Program?

tldr, I dub it the "international student version" of the Disney College Program (DCP) - which is only opened for students in the USA, hence the DCEP. It does fall under the Disney International Programs, the other program being the Disney Cultural Representative Program. The DCEP is a 3-month long program opened to students from countries like Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, China, Australia, New Zealand etc. to work in Walt Disney World Resort.


Being 3 months long, it will take up your summer vacation (May to early Aug) between semesters 1 and 2 so bear that in mind when planning your modules and other school programmes you want to do.


If selected, you will be placed in one of the many roles available and create magic for guests at the Most Magical Place on Earth! Roles include:

  • Attractions (rides, shows, park greeter, parade crew)

  • Quick Service Food & Beverage

  • Full-Service Food & Beverage Seater

  • Merchandise

  • Character Performer

  • Characer Attendant

  • Recreation Activities

  • Lifeguard

  • Custodial (though, the #1 rule is: everyone is custodial)

I, myself was assigned to the Outdoor Vending team in Magic Kingdom, which falls under the role of Quick Service Food & Beverage. I loved every minute of it; still have fond memories of my fellow cast members in all the costumes HAHA.


To be eligible for the program, you have to:

  • speak fluent English

  • have a strong performance in school (NUS criteria)

  • be of at least 18 years of age

  • be an existing student pursuing and undergraduate degree in a university

  • be receptive of the "Disney look" guidelines (updated as of 2021)

What life is like during the program?

Oh wow, okay without spoiling too much...


So as "interns" we're only allowed to work a maximum of 44hrs per week. That's about 5-6 days depending on your role and schedule assigned. I usually only got 5-day work weeks but I figured extra cash couldn't hurt so I picked up an extra shift and gave away my day off. That's just my preference cause I really had fun workign. (I mean, I literally sell mickey shaped ice cream and popcorn to kids, what's more fun than that?)


I always carried my mirrorless camera with me so I could take photos around the parks, with characters, parades etc after work for memories! LOL the pre-work outfit 😂


Before or after your shift, you are free to go about your day to do whatever you want. I opted for playing in the parks all day. You'd probably be wondering why I'd go back to the place I work at after doing an 8hr shift. Short answer is: why not? you get unlimited entry as a cast member and who'd get tired of riding rides and seeing Mickey Mouse?


Or you can use your day off and join one of the many activties hosted by the Disney program accomodations, or do your laundry, clean your room or hang out with your new friends! Whichever suits your fancy.


You will also get to meet other cast members from all over the world - a great time to expand your international social circle too! This was something I enjoyed too, learning about different cultures and their background.


My fellow cast members and I after our first late night shift for the special Disney VIllians After Hours event at Magic Kingdom. We were so tired but it was so much fun making magic for guests!


Where will we live in the 3 months?

(Disclaimer: The accomodation that the 2019 batch stayed in, the last program before the pandemic, was located outside the "Disney bubble" so our experience will be a little different. There used to be 5 apartment complexes but Disney has sinced built a new apartment complex, Flamingo Crossings and relocated all program participants to that one property.)


Disney provides accomodation for all their program participants in the new apartment complex: Flamingo Crossings Village (FCV). Click here for a video link of the accomodation. It's fully furnished except for a couple more personal items you need to bring/buy - pillow, bedsheets, blanket, towel, hangers. You will most probably be assigned to either a 2-room or 4-room apartment, though it's unclear on whether you will be able to indicate your preferred roommate (a.k.a bunk with someone you know from NUS).


Flamingo Crossings is a retail, hotel, shopping district developed by the Walt Disney Company. From the looks of it, your amenities are already leaps and bounds better than ours were haha. The previous apartment complexes where my batch of students stayed at were outside Disney property near Lake Buena Vista so we had shuttle buses to bring us to nearby grocery stores. And it seems like there is a huge Target at the shopping district just across from FCV, so shopping for necessities will definitely be much more convenient.


I can do a more in-depth guide on the new Disney housing in my next post but there are also a ton of Disney College Program youtubers who vlog about their experience so there's definitely other resources out there for you too.

Google Maps location: click here

Article on FCV by Disney Food Blog: click here

American Campus website on FCV: click here


There is a rent charge that will be deducted automatically from your weekly paycheck. I'm not sure about the rent for the new apartment complex so I suggest waiting till you have more information after you've been accepted.


OMG his sounds amazing, How Do I Apply?

I'm glad I convinced you.


NUS will open up applications on NUSTalentConnect till the end of July; it's been open since May 2023. From what I understand, the NUS group interviews will be held in August and the final interview with the Disney Recruiter will be held in November. So that's two rounds of interviews.


For NTU Business students, the programme will be publicised by the NTU Business Career Centre <- info from a friend. I also understand that only NTU Business students are allowed to apply.


Advice for the interviews


A good thing to bring into your interview is your Disney knowledge. It can be memories watching Disney films, that trip you took when you were 9 to Disneyland or even knowing who Walt Disney was, all this is great to show that you know what this company stands for. Disney is all about storytelling, immersing fans into the worlds of fantasy, magic and wonder, encouraging kids (adults are kids too) to dream big and get creative. Channel that energy into your interview!


The questions were pretty simple to answer, they really just want to get to know your experience and your personality sooo...Be yourself; a universal rule when preparing for any interview. The interviewers only want to understand you and your personality to see if you are the right fit for the role(s). The one thing I can tell you is to perhaps have in mind about 2-3 roles you think you'd be a good fit for if asked.


The Disney Recruiter I met was super friendly and sweet, she made the environment feel comfortable and asked pretty straight forward questions. So don't be nervous, enjoy the conversation!


Tips for Resume and Cover Letter


Drafting a good resume and cover letter takes practice in my experience. But simplicity is bliss.

For your resume (or CV, curriculum vitae), keep the structure and layout simple and perhaps play around with 1-2 colours for creativity, Choose a font that's easy to read right off the bat cause interviewers, in general, don't have time to squint their eyes reading Papyrus font in size 10. Another rule of thumb is to keep your descriptions to 2-3 bullet points or 1 sentence long. Summarise your experience with strong action words - sounds cheesy but it works. Oh and no 4 page long resumes please, keep it to a maximum of 2 pages.


A cover letter, however, gives you more freedom to be a little more creative. I threw in some Disney related words like "magic", "pixie dust", I guess it caught their eye but I liked that it gave the letter that uniqueness. State in your letter why you want to join the programme and any relevant experience. Also include how your skills can help you in the 3-month programme - interpersonal skills, time management etc.


The Disney Cultural Exchange Program is a unique chance to get a behind-the-scenes look at one of the world's largest theme parks and understand what makes Disney such an icon for many fans worldwide. Take this opportunity as well for self-growth as you embark on a journey to be independant - learning how to cook, clean and budget! (<- this was a good lesson for me haha). For more information on Walt Disney World Resort, check out this article I wrote comparing the difference between WDW in Florida and Disneyland in CA. I wish you all the best in your applications, do not hesitate to contact me @nickelocity on Instagram or at magicallynickelocity@gmail.com if you have any questions. Or if there is a topic you'd like me to touch on in more detail, drop a comment below!



See ya real soon!


And remember your daily scoop of pixie dust! ;)

100 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page